My Account

How do I close my PayPal account?

Before you close your PayPal account, remove any funds from your PayPal balance.

If there's a chance that you might want to use PayPal in the future, you can keep your account open.

If you notice a payment that you didn’t authorize, please report it right away in the Resolution Center.

On the web:

  1. Go to Settings.
  2. Click Close your account under "Account options."
  3. Click Close Account.

If you need help closing your account, please contact us. If you need help outside our working hours, email us your request at enquiry@paypal.com.

Once you close your PayPal account, it can’t be reopened.

It’s not possible to close an account with a remaining balance, an account limitation, or other unresolved issues.